BBRF Names 10 New Members to Scientific Council

Posted: October 22, 2018
BBRF Names 10 New Members to Scientific Council

We are pleased to welcome 10 new members to the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation (BBRF) Scientific Council. Members of the Council volunteer their time and expertise to review grant applications and award grants to support scientists conducting innovative, cutting-edge research focused on improving care for those living with mental illness, as well as seeking preventive and diagnostic tools for the future. BBRF’s Scientific Council is now comprised of 181 leading scientists from around the world – experts across disciplines and illnesses in brain and behavior research.

The Foundation’s Scientific Council includes two Nobel Prizewinners; two former directors and the current director of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH); four recipients of the National Medal of Science; 13 members of the National Academy of Sciences; 28 chairs of psychiatry and neuroscience departments at leading medical institutions, and 53 members of the Institute of Medicine.

“The Foundation is a driving force in advancing the understanding of mental illness, which impacts one in five people in the United States,” says Jeffrey Borenstein, M.D., President and CEO, of the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation. “Thanks to our generous donors and dedicated Scientific Council members we are awarding grants to support scientists conducting game-changing research to detect, treat, prevent, and ultimately cure psychiatric illness.”

The new members of the Scientific Council are:

Read more in this press release.