Leading Researchers Highlight Key Discoveries at Brain & Behavior Research Foundation Mental Health Research Symposium on October 26 in New York City

Posted: October 12, 2011

Dianne Ackerman

Brain & Behavior Research Foundation announces its 23rd Annual Mental Health Research Symposium featuring 14 leading mental health researchers sharing new breakthroughs and insights on schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder, anxiety, cognitive neuroscience and childhood psychiatric disorders. The event is open to the public at no charge. Registration is required.

October 26, 2010, 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Bohemian National Hall, 321 East 73rd St. (bet. 1st and 2nd Aves)
New York, NY 10021

The symposium will feature a panel of 14 highly distinguished mental health researchers – 8 are receiving Outstanding Achievement Prizes and 6 are NARSAD Young Investigator Grantees. The Awardees are: Daniel S. Pine, M.D., National Institute of Mental Health; Carol A. Tamminga, M.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas; Joel E. Kleinman, M.D., Ph.D., National Institute of Mental Health; Amanda J. Law, M.Sc., Ph.D., National Institute of Mental Health; Elena I. Ivleva, M.D., Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas; Michael E. Goldberg, M.D., Columbia University / NYSPI; Carlos A. Zarate, Jr., M.D., National Institute of Mental Health; David J. Miklowitz, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, Semel Institute. The NARSAD Young Investigator Grantees are: Bruce E. Herring, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco; Gordana Vitaliano, M.D., McLean Hospital, Harvard University; Romina Mizrahi, M.D., Ph.D., Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, University of Toronto; Katrina C. Johnson, Ph.D., Emory University; Emily Severance, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University; Leslie A. Hulvershorn M.D., M.Sc., Indiana University School of Medicine. For a complete schedule go to bbrfoundation.org/events/symposium

Symposium moderators will be Robert M.A. Hirschfeld, M.D. and Karen Dineen Wagner, M.D., Ph.D., both of University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, and Anthony A. Grace, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. All are members of the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation Scientific Council, a prestigious group of mental health researchers that leads the rigorous and competitive process of identifying the most promising ideas for NARSAD Grants to fund each year.

Since 1987, the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation has awarded nearly $300 million in over 4,000 NARSAD Grants to scientists worldwide. The Foundation is   committed to alleviating the suffering of mental illness by awarding grants that will lead to advances and breakthroughs in scientific research. “The Foundation will highlight leading mental health researchers who have made significant breakthroughs in the field at its research symposium,” said Benita Shobe, Brain & Behavior Research Foundation president and CEO. “The research findings and insights to be shared point toward improved lives for the one in four Americans who struggle with mental illness. It is through research like this that we move forward on the pathway from discovery to recovery for all the individuals and families living with mental illness.”

For a complete event schedule go to bbrfoundation.org/events/symposium