The Pardes Humanitarian Prize in Mental Health

About The Prize:

Herbert Pardes, M.D.

Herbert Pardes, M.D.

This international Prize recognizes a physician, scientist or public citizen whose extraordinary contribution has made a profound and lasting impact by improving the lives of people suffering from mental illness and by advancing the understanding of mental health. Established in 2014, The Pardes Humanitarian Prize in Mental Health was named in honor of Dr. Herbert Pardes, the first recipient of the award.

Bestowed annually, the Prize recognizes a person whose humanitarian work is transformative and of great magnitude, changing the lives and bringing the joy of living to those facing challenges to mental health. The recipient of the Prize is chosen by a distinguished Committee of nine members from nominations solicited worldwide and receives an honorarium. The Pardes Humanitarian Prize in Mental Health intends to focus public attention on the burden of mental illness on individuals and on society, and the urgent need to expand and enhance mental health services both in the developed world and in developing countries.

No one has better described the goals of this international Prize than Dr. Pardes himself: “Mental illness is the largest single health challenge in the world. For many decades society has recognized major contributions in basic science, clinical research and clinical care in the non-psychiatric health fields. The Pardes Humanitarian Prize has been established to honor individuals, who comprehensively care, teach, investigate, work and passionately advocate for improving the mental health of society, and who have had a powerful impact on reducing the pain inflicted by psychiatric illness.” Learn more about how the Pardes Prize is Making a difference.

Rendering of the Pardes Humanitarian Prize medal featuring Hygeia, Goddess of Health

Rendering of The Pardes Humanitarian Prize medal featuring Hygeia, Goddess of Health.


2016 - Vikram Patel, Ph.D., F.Med.Sci.

2016 - Charles F. Reynolds III, M.D.

2016 - Honorary Tribute to Senator Edward M. Kennedy


2015 - Beatrix A. Hamburg, M.D. and David A. Hamburg, M.D.

2015 - Honorary Tribute to Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter

2014 - Herbert Pardes, M.D.

The Pardes Humanitarian Prize Selection Committee:

Herbert Pardes, M.D.
Executive Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Celso Arango, M.D.
Head of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Service
Hospital General Universitario Gregoria Maranon, Madrid

Jack D. Barchas, M.D.
Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Weill Cornell Medical College
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

William T. Carpenter, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Director, Maryland Psychiatric Research Center
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Robert R. Freedman, M.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Psychiatry
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Dilip V. Jeste, M.D.
Associate Dean for Healthy Aging and Senior Care
Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair in Aging
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Director, Sam and Rose Stein Institute for Research on Aging
University of California, San Diego

Helen S. Mayberg, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Radiology
Dorothy C. Fuqua Chair in Psychiatric Neuroimaging and Therapeutics
Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta GA

Vikram Patel, F.Med.Sci.
Professor of International Mental Health and
Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow in Clinical Science
Centre for Global Mental Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Judith L. Rapoport, M.D.
Chief, Child Psychiatry Branch
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH/NIH)

Norman Sartorius, M.D., Ph.D., F.R.C.Psych.
Association for the Improvement of Mental Health Programmes, Geneva, Switzerland 

Myrna M. Weissman, Ph.D.
Diane Goldman Kemper Professor of Epidemiology and Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Epidemiology
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York, NY