

747 Third Avenue, 33<sup>rd</sup> Floor New York, NY 10017

t 646 681 4888 800 829 8289 f 646 681 4891

bbrfoundation.org

May 1, 2024

## Nominations for the 2024 Lieber Prize - Deadline Extended to Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Dear Colleague:

The Lieber Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Schizophrenia Research is an award of \$50,000 given by the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation (formerly NARSAD), to an outstanding scientist carrying out work relevant to the causes, pathophysiology, treatment or the prevention of schizophrenia. The scientist to be recognized will be one who gives particular promise for advancing our understanding of schizophrenia, or of basic brain mechanisms in schizophrenia. The Lieber Prize Committee consists of Drs. Robert Freedman, Raquel Gur, Kenneth Kendler, David Lewis, Carol Tamminga, Daniel Weinberger and myself. Our work is to review the nominations of scientists from around the world who are carrying out work relevant to schizophrenia.

I am writing to you and to other leading scientists to ask if you would call to our attention, scientists whom you believe have made outstanding contributions to schizophrenia research. Please forward all nominations via e-mail **by Wednesday, May 15, 2024** to:

## Ms. Sho Tin Chen, Vice President, Research Grants Email: <a href="mailto:schen@bbrfoundation.org">schen@bbrfoundation.org</a>

Your nomination should include a 200-250 word summary describing your nominee's major discoveries along with the candidate's NIH Biosketch (5 pages) and list of most important publications (maximum of 10). Please email this as one single PDF document labeled "<insert Last Name>, <insert First Name> 2024 Lieber Schizophrenia Prize". Please keep in mind that the contributions should be of a fundamental nature and may be either in clinical or basic research. The submission of this material will enable the Lieber Prize Committee to identify an eligible scientist to be selected for the 2024 Lieber Prize.

Sincerely,

William E. Bunney, M.D. Chair, Lieber Prize Advisory Panel Distinguished Professor Associate Dean for Research Faculty Liaison School of Medicine