Foundation Scientific Council Recognizes Exceptional Young Researchers

2012 Klerman Prizewinner, Jess G. Fiedorowicz, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor at the University of Iowa and 2008 NARSAD Young Investigator Grantee
Jess Fiedorowicz, M.D., Ph.D.

Six young scientists will be recognized with the Annual Klerman and Freedman Prizes by the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation on Friday July 27, 2012 at Le Parker Meridien Hotel in New York City. The Klerman Prize was established in 1994 in memory of Gerald Klerman, M.D., to honor outstanding achievements in clinical mental health research by a young investigator. The Freedman Prize was established in 1998 in memory of Daniel X. Freedman, M.D., to recognize outstanding basic mental health research by a young investigator. The prizewinners are selected by committees within the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation Scientific Council, a volunteer group of 132 of the world’s leading mental health researchers. Herbert Pardes, M.D., presides over the Council and selection committees and said, “NARSAD Young Investigator Grantees offer the promise of outstanding mental health research. These young scientists being honored demonstrate exceptional talent and are moving us forward in the quest for better understanding of and improved treatments for brain and behavior disorders.”

Read the full press release about the Annual Klerman and Freedman Prizewinners

Add new comment


Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Please note that researchers cannot give specific recommendations or advice about treatment; diagnosis and treatment are complex and highly individualized processes that require comprehensive face-to- face assessment. Please visit our "Ask an Expert" section to see a list of Q & A with NARSAD Grantees.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.